Honorable Mention and Exhibit

December 15, 2010 by Klara Hanincova

I am very excited!!!!! I just found out that one of my photos was selected for the group exhibition “Portraits” at The Center for Fine Art Photography in Fort Collins, CO.  It also received a “Juror’s Honorable Mention” award. This is a huge achievement!!!  Juror Rodney Smith, a master photographer who studied under Walker Evans in 1975 at Yale, selected my work out of 2,794 submitted images. It is hard to explain how happy and grateful I am! My photo “The Dog Encounter” will be on display in the Center’s online and physical gallery from February 4 through March 19, 2011. Yipeee!!!!

The Dog Encounter

The photo is part of my ongoing project “Life as a Dog” that captures dogs and their daily lives. This particular photo was taken last spring during the New Rochelle Humane Society Open House/Rabies and Microchip Clinic. It was a cold and rainy day and I was outside, photographing dogs that were hanging out waiting for their turn to be vaccinated.  I was cold and ready to head back inside when these two big fellows arrived and got suspiciously (maybe a little too much!) interested in the little pup in the background. I always wonder what those two were thinking.

Leave a Reply

