New Rochelle Humane Society 2011 Calendars are here!

Donate, Get a Gift in Return and Celebrate!

November 06, 2010 by Klara Hanincova

FINALLY!!! Our freshly printed calendars with photographs of the New Rochelle Humane Society dogs just arrived!!! Have a look!

Format: Centerfold Wall Calendar, Size Closed: 8″ x 11″, Size Opened: 16″ x 22″, Binding: Spiral

Now here is really big news! The New Rochelle Humane Society will mark its 100th anniversary in 2011 and the calendar is a part of the celebration that will last the whole year.

To celebrate 100 years of caring with the shelter, stop by the shelter, donate $25 and you will get a calendar with full-color photographs of thirteen shelter dogs that would love to keep you company throughout the year.

But hurry!!! There is only a limited number of calendars and demand seems to be high!!!

I would like to emphasize that 100% of your donation is going to the shelter, to those who need it the most. This is entirely possible thanks to the people and businesses that sponsored the printing of this calendar: Mobile Vet Squad, Larchmont Floral Designs, Pet Fence Guy, Jamie and Stephen McKay, Dave Donahue and Lee Anne Veley, Walter’s Hot Dogs, Diane and Dave Wade, Dianne Heim, Carol Marinaccio, DIVINE K-9 and Shampooch Dog Salon & Spa.

I would also like to thank the printing company Loupe Digital for producing such top quality calendars for us!

I am super excited to see the final product of our hard work, but let’s start from the beginning. Last spring I was talking to the shelter manager Dana Rocco about the photography project that I had in mind. My idea was to create photographs that would not only help to demystify the common image of shelter dogs as ugly looking often aggressive animals with mental issues (the truth is that the majority of the shelter dogs are just like any other dogs, the only difference is their unlucky fate), but also would show that it is not only a particular breed or size of the dog that can be found in the shelter.

The project got approved (Thank you Dana for this great opportunity!) and I began to photograph shelter dogs having two final products in my mind.

The first one, a book, is still work in progress.

The second one, the 2011 calendar, just arrived hot off the printer at the shelter!!!!! Have I already mentioned how excited I am about it? Yes!!! …but ok you are right let’s stay focused here… Over late spring, summer and early autumn of this year, I came to the shelter as often as I could and photographed as many dogs as I could. I chose to use a simple black background to focus the entire attention of a viewer on the dog and decided to photograph in color to fully capture their personality and appearence.

I should also mention that I would be never able to produce any of these images without the assistance of Beverly Press, the New Rochelle Humane Society event coordinator, that patiently handled all the dogs during every shoot. Thank you so much Beverly!!!

2 thoughts on “New Rochelle Humane Society 2011 Calendars are here!

  1. I am looking for a nice calendar as a gift for a very close friend called Scaramouche. I cannot seem to find where to purchase it. If it is possible to ship internationally I will make a direct donation to the shelter to cover the amount..

    oh, fantastic news on the Honorable mention by the way.

    • David,
      Good news is that all the calendars were sold!!!! Bad news is that because of that I can not send you one…:(

      BUT there is a book coming out next year that will feature our shelter dogs. I will definitely keep your Scaramouche friend in mind and put one aside for him…:)

Leave a Reply

