The First Post

October 17, 2010 by Klara Hanincova

Welcome to Venture Pup’s blog! As I was trying hard to think of what the first post should be about, millions of topics came steaming through my head. After all, the first post is the “first post”. So there I was, thinking on the train, while eating dinner, walking my dogs, brushing my teeth…and then one rainy evening as I was waiting for the train it struck me! The first entry has to be about Venture Pup itself! In the end the pup was just born! What was I thinking!

So who is this Venture Pup? Venture Pup is a pet photography business serving the New York, Connecticut and New Jersey area. Its goal is to create not just beautiful photographs, but also photographs that each time you look at, bring those moments back to life and for a split second you feel the excitement of your dog as he plays his favorite game, you see his paws twitch as he sleeps and you hear your cat purring as she snuggles in her favorite blanket.

Before I forget, to celebrate the Venture Pup’s launch, the first 5 customers will get 10% off their prints and products purchased!!!!!

Venture Pup was born out of my volunteer work at the New Rochelle Humane Society, where I spend most of my spare time. It is the place where two of my life biggest passions: photography and animals come together and I realized that I absolutely love what I am doing and decided to make it a part of my day to day life as a pet photographer.

Why the name Venture Pup? Well, it was a hot summer day in Slovakia, I was about seven year old and my father just decided that it was time for him to get his own hunting dog. My mother, who always kept our apartment super clean and in tip-top shape, was not thrilled with the idea of a furry, always shedding creature living with us, but there was not much she could do as my father had already made up his mind. Then there was a phone call. Uncle Tony just called to say that his female Slovak Kopov dog has just given birth to a whole bunch of puppies and… nobody really knows what he said next because in that second my father and I were sitting in our old Lada car heading for the uncle’s house. And there they were, just as he said, a whole bunch of silky puppies lying right next to their mum. Those days there was an official rule that if there were more than six puppies born in a litter, the extra ones had to be put down. The pup that we fell in love with was born with hernia and so was one of those extra ones. My father, a surgeon, fixed the hernia and saved Floko (that is how we named our pup) from his terrible fate. A few months later, when our puppy was big enough to leave his mother, we brought him home. Little did we know that our little pup would turn out to not only be a genius hunting dog, but also the most adVENTUREous pup I have ever seen!

3 thoughts on “The First Post

  1. That is a great story! Good luck with everything, your work is amazing =) I recommend it to anybody interested in getting their animals pictures taken.

Leave a Reply

